Bank Holiday, comes 6 times a year

I am so relieved it’s a Bank Holiday today. Not only does it mean I don’t feel like the only person in the world pottering around at home, but Le Homme hasn’t had to leave for his “away work” yet*.

Further bonus for today was that he didn’t have to leave the house till after 9 this morning, yet we were both up at half seven. I used the time to take advantage of having the car and buzzed off to Tesco to get some food in. Who knew the joy of Tesco at 8 o’clock n the morning? It was so quiet. No kids, no doddery old people, full shelves and empty checkouts. It was like some kind of freaky Dream Tesco Experience. I also picked up a chocolate croissant and a couple of books to cheer me up. It didn’t work. Turns out, I’m still suspended and waiting for a disciplinary hearing, just with more books and a chocolate croissant.

Once Le Homme headed off to work I put my free time to good use and started spring cleaning. Properly. Like, cleaning the skirting boards and everything. Not the oven though, that may be a step too far. (We’ve lived here for two and a half years now, and I think I’ve cleaned the oven maybe twice, is that wrong?). I still have the bathroom and the spare room to do, but Le Homme came home and now I just want to chill out.

*Le Homme currently spends three days a week away from home for work.

Leave a Reply

