Nice Day For A Sulk

“With sour faces we let a thousand bright and pleasant hours slip by unenjoyed and afterwards vainly sigh for their return when times are trying and depressing….we should cherish every present moment that is bearable, even the most ordinary, which with such indifference we now let slip by, and even with impatience push on.”

—Schopenhauer

That is such a brilliant sentiment. I cannot wish back these hours, these days I’ve spent bemoaning that I’m not at work. Full in the knowledge that if I was at work, I’d only be complaining about it. Full in the knowledge that when (if? WHEN) I do go back to work, I’ll sigh for the days I stayed in bed listening to Women’s Hour. I cannot wish back these hours, but I can enjoy the ones I have now. I can do my best to prevent this from being time wasted. Even if I do spend my days in bed, it’s time well spent if I can appreciate it, in the moment.

6 responses to “Nice Day For A Sulk

  1. That is so true! Enjoy practising enjoying your hours! 🙂

  2. New to your blog…it’s great!

  3. Hello. Found you via my friend Soupster. Would you mind if I stalked you? In a good, passive, non-threatening, not-very-stalkerish kind of way?

Leave a Reply

