There’s Always Someone Cooler Than You

I’m not one for a bandwagon. Chances are, if everyone else is doing it/getting one/seeing it/loving it, I’m standing with my back turned, nose in the air going “Nope! Not interested!”

This can occasionally be detrimental (please reference iPods, eyebrow waxing, pizza*, blogging on anything other than Livejournal) and eventually, I’ll catch on.

Which is why I am the last person on the Whole Planet to discover the wonder woman that is Jillian Michaels. I’m not a reality TV fan, so had never seen The Biggest Loser and was a bit well, snobbish about her. In a “yeah, famous lady, you might think you know about diet and fitness, but you have no clue what it’s like down here with the little people” kind of way.

However. A couple of weeks ago, I was mooching on the couch, when I spotted that The Biggest Loser was just starting a new season. So I figured I’d give it a go. I wouldn’t say I was hooked, but I’m interested, definitely interested. A few more episodes in, and La Jillian is beginning to grow on me. I knew she used to do a radio show and went hunting for some podcasts.

Fatal Error.

I’ve downloaded something like 75 podcasts of her radio show and cannot listen to them fast enough. It’s ridiculous. She’s not telling me anything I don’t already know (eat less, move more, don’t cut out any significant food group, crappy stuff in moderation), but the prospect of listening to someone chatter away about diet and fitness is like a little slice of heaven in my day. There is a whole other post about diet/fitness/weight loss on it’s way, but suffice to say it’s something I spend a lot of time thinking about. I already love the Two Fit Chicks podcasts, and now it seems I have fallen for the Jillian. There’s something about the honest, real way she speaks about stuff that I really like. Then she’ll throw in some aside, like “That bicycle costs more than my motorbike!” and I’ll be all “WTF? She has a motorbike? How cool is she?”

But anyway, enough of the fangirling. If you like health and fitness, and you haven’t already done so, check her out. If you’re not so much about the health and fitness thing, then, y’know, don’t.

*I had a minor dislike of cheddar cheese when I was younger, which put me off pizza. Then I went to Uni and was introduced to the world of the takeaway.

7 responses to “There’s Always Someone Cooler Than You

  1. I used to download her radio show. I guess I got away from it after a while. I like Jillian too, and there’s something to be said about hearing all the things you already know, but are not actually doing. In my case, anyway. I listen to a podcast about debt reduction and it just gets me in the right mindset even though I know all the information.

    • I think you hit the nail on the head there. It *is* all about getting into the mindset, even if you’ve heard all the stuff before.

  2. She has a new show here where she goes to people’s houses and kicks their asses into shape. Pretty good actually. I love her 30 Day Shred Workout DVD if you haven’t checked it out yet.

  3. Interesting that ‘podcasts with a message’ have a place. I suppose it’s a little like Paul McKenna’s CDs. Or am I wrong? Our show is just about exploring music and having a little light fun along the way. Anyone who looks for a message in it will be sorely disappointed.

    • Her show is more about chatting about fitness and weight loss. She takes calls from people with specific questions on those topics and explains her thoughts. There’s not really a “message” as such. I love it, because I’m a bit of fitness obsessive (mentally, if not always physically). In the same way, I imagine someone totally into music, would love your show – which I also enjoy by the way!

      • Awww, bless you for the kindness wordage. The reason I mentioned McKenna is because Soph has listened to his CDs. I shall try Jillian’s show.

Leave a Reply

