Catch My Disease

Being bored and unemployed has a number of disadvantages. Top of the list this week is the fact that it causes you to say “Yes” when you would normally say “No chance!”.

Like when your husband asks you to help him out with some work. And you end spending six hours in the pissing rain measuring trees. It was actually quite entertaining and I enjoyed being out of the house. Problem is, I now have a totally stinking cold and am feeling very sorry for myself.

I finally have a confirmed job offer (subject to references and credit check) and will be starting a training course in late September. I don’t know if it’s the career for me, but it will provide the cash required to allow me some breathing space to pursue other options in my free time. I’m looking ahead to a month filled with getting my head sorted out, getting cracked on with writing a novel and trying to lose the muffin top that’s developed in five months of watching telly and eating biscuits.

Naturally, having planned a whole Routine with great enthusiasm, I am utterly incapable of putting any of it into practise, being only good for impressions of Rudolph, and the 100m snotty tissue challenge. Which is fun.

Of course the advantage of being unemployed is that being ill gives legitimate reason to staying in bed and eating biscuits. Normally, I’d have grumpily slogged off to work and spread my cheerful germs amongst my co-workers. Instead, I’m grumpily sending text messages to all and sundry updating them about the state of the sniffles. Be glad I still haven’t figured out Twitter….

One response to “Catch My Disease

  1. Hope you feel better!

Leave a Reply

