Fill My Little World

I bought new slippers yesterday. They were only a fiver, and are super comfy cosy. Our bathroom and kitchen both have tiled flooring which is chilly in the morning. And where do I spend most of my morning time? In the bathroom and kitchen. Popping on a pair of comfy slippers to protect my precious little tootsies from the chilly floor? Is a simple, tiny thing, but makes me smile.

I was at a wedding on Friday night. As I stood at the bar I looked back at our table, and watched my husband with our friends. Some who I text or chat with every week, some who I keep in touch with only by Facebook updates. All of them were chatting away, catching up, laughing as though we hung out every day. It’s a small thing, but it made me smile.

We finally got our fireplace properly installed, and picked up some wood. Le Homme laid a fire and we sat with a nice bottle of wine and watched the flames. It’s a simple thing, but it made me smile.

I went for a run last week, and towards the end of the final mile, Elbow’s “Grounds For Divorce” came on my iPod. I turned it up, started sprinting and finished my run with delight. It’s a small thing, but it made me smile.

Something I love about myself? That I really do appreciate the small, simple things as they happen.

Written for 30 Days of Truth

Day 1: Something you hate about yourself

One response to “Fill My Little World

  1. Pingback: Weak As I Am | The Trick Is To Keep Breathing

Leave a Reply

