Still Fighting It

Today is my birthday. Twenty-nine years ago, I came screaming into the world and sometimes it feels like I’ve been screaming every day since.

It has been quite a year. Pretty much dominated by the whole getting fired thing. I should really be doing a whopping retrospective post, considering all the things I’ve learned this year, and all my grand plans for the forthcoming year.

However. I’ve spent a LOT of this year gazing at my navel and overthinking my whole life. I’m not sure it does me any good. Sometimes, the worst place for me to be is in my own head, thinking about life rather than living it. When I look back on the last year, there are very few actions, very few events that stand out. I feel as though I’m drifting, slightly off course, and rather than paddle hard to get to where I want to be, I’m trying to think my way back and becoming frustrated when that doesn’t work.

This year, I want to DO more. But it can’t be the things I think I SHOULD do. I’m going to spend my time, doing things I WANT to do. And remembering that sometimes, the two are the same.

4 responses to “Still Fighting It

  1. Happy Birthday! Here’s to you this year!

  2. Happy Birthday. It’s mine tomoz.

  3. Happy birthday! 29 is definitely one of the best ages to be – perfect for you to turn over a new leaf. I know exactly how you feel – I walked out of my own business last year, and have spent the year drifting. It is going to be quite a job to change the mindset and start doing things again! But good luck to you!

  4. I could have written this post. Very little stands out for me during the last year except for that daily grind kind of feeling. I really like your blog and your outlook on life. I am putting you in my reader right now and look forward to reading more from you. Oh, and a very Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

