Don’t Worry. Be Happy.

“Don’t worry about the future, it’s none of your business”

I read that quote in a woman’s magazine a few months ago, and it’s stuck with me since.

There was a whole blog post here, but it occurs to me that I don’t need to beat you over the head with my point.

In short: worrying is pointless, upsetting and generally has no effect on forthcoming events at all whatsoever. It occurs to me that worrying about my life is as effective as worrying about my wedding. Most of the things we planned went right. Some things went wrong. Nobody cared, and we all had an awesome time.

Upon my deathbed, I want to think “Well, some things went well, some things didn’t. But I had an awesome time”.

5 responses to “Don’t Worry. Be Happy.

  1. Nice thoughts. Worrying is pointless. But I worry. And fret. And stress. And suffer massive periods of insomnia.

    • It’s a difficult thing to avoid, habitual worrying thinking. I’m trying to catch myself in the act, and think the issue through. Deciding if there’s something I can do about it then and there. If not, stop thinking about it! I find Radio 4 / podcasts / audiobooks are great for insomnia. Very effective for quieting a babbling brain!

  2. Good reminder. It is so hard to stop though isn’t it. Dang brain.

  3. Excellent advice. I try to think that way constantly but am a natural born worrier. My aim for 2011 is no more worrying. It really gets me nowhere. I want to be able to just go with the flow and be all Zen and fabulous. I am going to try my hardest to at least get partway there!

Leave a Reply

